My Top 5 Places to go in East London

I have lived in London for 18 months now and I thought I’d made a short list of my favourite places to visit! I’m very lucky that all these are all places within a 30 minute journey of my house but they’re all worth a visit even if you live further away. Enjoy!

  1. E Pellicci

332 Bethnal Green Rd, London E2 0AG

e pellici 2.jpge pellici

E Pellicci is a wonderful,  family-run cafe where you can get a greasy fry-up or a steaming hot bowl of pasta and be delighted by both. I probably go here most weeks as it’s a great breakfast spot- their veggie breakfast is one of the best I’ve ever had! Plus they’ve made these awesome t-shirts (awkwardly modeled by me ) so I can represent wherever I go. This is my go-to cafe, I cannot rate it highly enough!

2. Genesis Cinema

93-95 Mile End Rd, London E1 4UJ

genesis (2).png

Genesis Cinema is hands down the best cinema ever. Showing a mixture of mainstream and independent films, there’s always something to interesting to watch. It’s cheaper than your average cinema with tickets for £4.50 on Mondays and Wednesdays. They also regularly host free screenings of classic TV shows such as The Simpsons and Friends as well as fun events such as poetry slams. Another thing that makes Genesis so special is their regular feminist events such as the screenings of #Directedbywomen2017 and the recent Genesisters live music show. If all that wasn’t enough to persuade you to visit, they also have incredibly tasty nachos!

3. Black Cat Cafe

76 Clarence Rd, London E5 8HB
 black cat.png

The Black Cat Cafe in Hackney is an all vegan cafe with an often changing menu of cruelty-free treats. Although it is a little harder for me to travel to, it’s definitely worth the effort as their milkshakes are to die for. Always busy, the homely atmosphere takes you miles away from busy London. I also love the fact that you are surrounded by people united by the animal rights cause- I think that’s pretty cool. This place is a must visit for vegans and non-vegans alike as it is a completely unique experience, I can’t wait to go back!

4. Lamas Pyjamas

83 Roman Rd, London E2 0QN

llamas

It might not look like much but Lamas Pyjamas is a charity shop guaranteed to please any thrifty bargain hunter (or poor student!) Raising money for the London Buddhist Center, they always have a large selection of clothes with many recognizable brands such as Monsoon, Pull & Bear, TopShop and River Island. Occasionally, you might get extra lucky (as I did once) and find a brand new pair of Nike trainers for only £30! They sometimes have sales of 50% off everything which is an excellent time to stock up on all of those flannel shirts you so desperately need. It joins a whole host of amazing charity shops in the area such as the East End Thrift store only 15 minutes walk away. Maybe you can swing by on your way to E Pellicci!

5. 90 Degree Melt

4BJ, 235 Mile End Rd, London E1

melt (2)melt 2

Recently opened, this veggie/vegan tapas-style grilled cheese bar brigs something different to Mile End and I LOVE it! Featuring such sandwiches as ‘The Mean Green Melt’ and my personal favourite ‘The Donald Trump Mexican Melt, this is a lovely place to go with friends. The long, Wagamama-style seating gives the restaurant a  relaxed, sociable vibe and the friendly staff are always willing to have a chat. If you do decide to go, the cauliflower buffalo wings (pictured above) are a must have.


Thank you for reading my blog! I hope you enjoyed it and that you might visit some of these places if you’re in the area!

 

Leave a Reply

